Review: eBay Lens Hood for Canon 50mm 1.8

Choices: To save money with an eBay lens hood or go for elite status for the real deal lens hood from Canon. As you can tell, I chose the former. Hey, it was only $5 so I thought it was worth a gamble.

Buying and receiving this item from eBay was the usual no drama affair. Click on the ‘buy it now’ button, pay for your goods and just wait around your mailbox for about a week.

From what I’ve seen and read, the Canon lens hood is a two piece design. I’m not too sure what the adapter is made out of but the hood itself is metal. As for this $5 eBay lens hood, it is a one piece plastic construction. If you’re prone to swinging around your camera and accidentally banging your lens on hard objects, I’m pretty sure this hood will break as it is just strong enough to hold a form.

Other than the fact my lens cap does not an entirely tight grip on the hood, it serves it purpose quite well which is to block stray sunlight from washing out your pics and occasionally keeps stray objects away from touching the precious glass.

So for $5, I got my money’s worth already. If this hood does eventually breaks into pieces, I honestly would probably stretch an extra Jackson for the real deal.

Leave a Reply

